Curriculum Vitae

Chema Garrido retrato

Curriculum Vitae updated 12th December 2022.

Born 1984, Barcelona, Spain.

Currently I work at Sparta Commodities as a Team Manager for the Data team,  remotely from Cubelles (Barcelona).  Available only for small projects / consultancies.

Experience

Since 2004 I work in IT. I had work in different IT fields like: system administrator, developer, team leader, project manager, scrum master,  CTO…  In 2009 I started my own company,  Yclas Inc which was acquired in 2021.

12/2022 – Current
Sparta Commodities
Team Manager – Scrum Master – Data team.

12/2021 – Currently only for small projects
Freelance – Self employed – Garridodiaz.com
Technological Consultant – Web specialized.

03/2009 – 12/2021
Yclas.com – Open-Classifieds.com
Development and management of the open source software.
Founder – Developer.

01/2011 – 01/2014
TuManitas.com
Development and management for the web project.
Partner – Chief Technology Officer

08/2010 – 01/2011
Privalia.com
Customer service web app project.
Team Leader/Scrum Master, LAMP development.

10/2009 – 07/2010
Freelance – Self employed – Garridodiaz.com
Technological Consultant – Web specialized.

10/2008 – 10/2009
In2ideas – Den Bosch, Netherlands
Various web back office projects for ISOs.
Team Leader, analyst and developer in LAMP.

07/2006 – 09/2008
Inmo6d2 S.L. – Barcelona
Development of a web back office and various web sites for real estate agents.
Team Leader, analyst and developer ASP, SQL, IIS.

04/2006-10/2006
Connecta CC – Barcelona
Development of a web back office web to manage a Call Center.
Analyst and developer ASP, SQL, IIS.

09/2005 – 04/2006
IFW S.L. – Barcelona
System Administrator Windows/Linux, quality and resources performance.
Webmaster and developer ASP, SQL, IIS.

04/2005 – 09/2005
Conzentra (Auna TLC) – Barcelona
Developer Visual C, JAVA.

03/2004 – 04/2005
Axis-sf – Barcelona
System Administrator Windows/Linux and PHP developer.

10/03-2003/2004
Miro SL – Barcelona
Responsible for the IT sales department.

04/2003-09/2003
FNAC – Barcelona
IT component sales.

Education

Since I had my own first computer at the age of 12, I felt really interested in IT. Because of that when I was 18 years old, I started my professional studies.
Besides my studies, I like to study in my free time as much as I can, Kindle my best partner.


2012 (October – November)
UC Berkely, San Francisco, USA.
Project Management Course, PMI – PMP, final grade A

2011 – Scrum Alliance training course, Barcelona.
Certified ScrumMaster. (Member 140840)


2009-2010
Universidad Politécnica de Cataluña – UPC , Barcelona
Master in Management and Development of Information Systems and Services.


2009-2010 Official Language School – EOI, Barcelona
English level 4 of 5


08/2008 Oxford House Language School – Barcelona
English 60 Advanced Level


03/2006 – 07/2006 Proyecto Universidad Empresa – PUE, Barcelona
Master in Development and Architecture Java


2002-2005 Instituto Gesem – Barcelona
Advanced IT for Business – TSIE


StudyCenterYear
High SchoolLa Salle Congrés2000-2002
Secondary SchoolCol-legi Cor de María1996-2000
Primary SchoolCol-legi Cor de María1990-1996

Skills

It is not easy to determine in what things you are good at, therefore the next points are based in my best career skills. I have been told that I am a responsible and reliable person who takes everything serious but with good humor.

Optimize. Performance of usage and resources for IT processes.
Organize. Manage and planning for projects.
Design. IT solutions for DB, requirements, user cases, functional..
Develop. PHP 8, Laravel, Koseven, WordPress, MySQL, REDIS
Talks. I do as tech speaker in events since long time ago.
Blogging. I write in blogs since 2006.

Honors

04/10 Campus Party Europe – Madrid
Open Classifieds project selected as show case.
11/09 PHP International Conference – Barcelona
Speaker for Open Classifieds.

Projects

I have too many ideas, not much time.  I have started many small projects, some I had sold, some I have “deprecated them” , my biggest project is Yclas and the framework Koseven. Also I am a small shareholder in 3 other companies.

Languages

Native Spanish and Catalan, fluent English.

I did not learn English as a child, since was not normal in Spain. I love to travel and talk to people. I started learning by myself in 2006 hanging out with foreign colleges, watching only O.V. Movies and a lot of reading. To improve my speaking skills I lived more than 1 year abroad and in order to improve my grammar I did a course in the official language school in 2009.
Currently I am fluent in English and I do most of my life in this language; home, business, studies, leisure…, my wife is Dutch so we mostly speak English at home 😉